The Digital Divide is Alive!

So here I am on February 18, 2008 in the early morning, writing about the digital divide years and years after many others started talking about it and its consequences.  Today, I had my first ‘real’  realization of how little I know about technology and where I actually stand on the digital divide line.  

The digital divide is a term social scientists use in order to describe the impacts of technological innovation on society.  The idea is that technology is getting so specialized, expensive, time-consuming, etc… that certain people will be able to learn and successfully use the technology while others will find it difficult to get started and perhaps fail to take advantage of the new technology altogether.  The reasons for one falling into one or the other group varies depending upon one’s social milieu.  A commonly thought example of this, which is usually based on one’s age, is the old saying about not being able to program a VCR. 

Some social scientists see this phenomena as being a part of the cultural lag idea where the culture of society is always lagging behind the knowledge and abilities of that society, causing a necessary and natural conflict.  Others, like myself, understand that the digital divide is created purposely in order to further keep people from coming together and organizing for positive social change.

My Situation

In my case, I wanted to help developers create new social networking software.  I wanted to help because for the past few months, I’ve been searching for my voice on the Internet.  I don’t want to be anywhere near Rupert Murdoch and his MySpace.  I don’t want anything to do with the ultra-Libertarian influences and greedy owners of Facebook.  And Google with Blogger and other online applications is quickly spreading its reach to all corners of the Internet in 1984-authoritarian style.  Of course, there’s the king of kings, Microsoft, who not only controls a lot of information flow on the Internet, but also has a strong grasp on a large percentage of personal computers.  So, I found a grassroots development community who’s working on something different, something that might allow people to interact easily via the Internet but without the advertisements, the profit-making motives, and the data collection.  But I couldn’t help them (yet) because I don’t have the skills and/or knowledge.

I’ve always considered myself to be comfortable and knowledgeable about computers.  I’ve been using them since before the Internet, where I would dial into bulletin boards and try to hack open modem lines.  So, I thought I’d be able to learn what I needed in order to help the above effort.  I found out, however, that in order for me to learn what I need to just get the software installed on my computer, I would have to spend hours and possibly days figuring out details of another operating system (Linux).  And since I cannot set aside that time at this point in my life, I am unable to get it installed and therefore, unable to help.  Because I am used to being able to do what I want with computers, I am now aware (painfully!) that my computer use now has limits.  I am aware that technology is moving faster than I am able to keep up.  I am aware that I am moving closer to a technology user and further away from a technology maker.  I am now aware that I am on the downside of the digital divide.

This new awareness gives me a taste of what it might be like to interact with computers for the first time in 2008.  The overwhelming feeling I felt with the above must be similar to the overwhelming feeling someone might feel who’s learning how to type, use the mouse, or navigate around their computer.  The people I work with in my day job who struggle with new technology might also feel a good amount of stress when they are forced to learn new software and how to interact with new technology.  In the past, I’ve asked the question, "How can someone not understand how to use a mouse?"  Now, I know.  Some Linux developers are probably thinking the same about me and how it’s possible that I don’t know how to install Linux.  I now have an experiential understanding of the digital divide.

What Should I (We) Do? 

To a Libertarian, or someone who believes that improving oneself is the key to improving the world, all I would need to do is seclude myself for a few weeks (months? years?) until I am skilled on what I need to be skilled about.  If everyone did this, then everyone would have the skills they need.  So, I guess, I could do that and hope that others will do the same.  But, what if this isn’t the way things really work?  What if groups of people are treated differently so it becomes difficult or even impossible for them to learn the skills the people in these groups need? 

Another route I could go is to try and close the divide by offering any free time, energy, and computer knowledge that I have to people who have less … for FREE.  I’ve recently joined a local time bank.  The online time bank is a technological way of trading one’s time for services needed.  I’ve offered to do stuff and those people will give me hours out of their accounts in order to do those tasks.  And then, I can take those hours that I’ve earned and give them to someone who is willing to teach me more about the technology I need to learn about.  So, my request for help is up there.  I also have offers to help people with basic computer/web stuff.  And now I wait.  

…I wait some more…

…and a little more …

…still waiting…

While I’m waiting, I remember that the time bank is only going to include people who have the computer experience necessary in order to feel comofortable with that system.  I know that the time bank cannot be helpful on its own in order to close the digital divide.

So, what will close this divide?  I imagine there are many people in the U.S. and throughout the world that would like to do more with technology but cannot because of their own personal and social limitations.  How can I get to some of these people and help them bridge that divide?  I have a few answers to this question that I will share later.  Any thoughts on this are, as always, much appreciated.